Federal Republic of Nigeria


1 Alhaji Labaran & 3 Others (ALH. AMINU Ja’) Senator Jibrin I. Barau (Kano North) Nigerian Defence Academy withdrawal of four cardet NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/1 – 4/7/2019 The Committee recommends that the Senate finds the inability of the Nigeria Defense Academy(NDA) to relegate and withdraw Cadet Aminu Ja’afar after two academic sessions according to its own rules, unacceptable and unjust; and accordingly demands that justice be restored and Cadet Aminu Ja’afar be reinstated to complete his degree programme in Geography Department.
2 Mr. Isah Ndagi Maiyaki Senator Sadiq S. Umar (Kwara North) National Agency for Food Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) Petition against NAFDAC for alleged wrongful dimissal from service NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/6 – 02/10/2019 1. In view of the Committee findings, the Committee recommends that the Senate directs that Mr. Isah Ndagi Maiyaki be reinstated by the National Agency for Food and Drugs Administration and Control(NAFDAC) and be paid all his entitlements as his indictment; investigation and termination of his appointment were not holistic and crystal clear, and therefore, sounded more like victimization as there was no visisble evidence to justify his disengagement from service; 2. That NAFDAC should liaise with the Nigeria Police Force to conduct further investigation by arresting and interrogating Mr. Suleiman Haruna, a Staff of NHIS and principal suspect to the crime to unearth his involvement in the crime, and subsequent punishment in line with the provisions of relevant laws of Federal Republic of Nigeria.
3 Nwachukwu A. Ndukwe Senator Enyinnaya H. Abaribe (Abia South) Hon.Minister of Water Resources Petition against Hon. Minister of Water Resources for delay at appointing him as Executive Director in Anambra/Imo River Basin Development Authority NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/10 – 9/10/2019 1. In view of the Committee findings, the Committee recommends that since vacancy would occur between now and the first quarter of 2020, the Minister should honour his word and give Abia State a priority over the other constituent State in the appointment of new Executive Directors into the Board of Anambra/Imo River Basin Development Authority;

2. Appoint the Abia State nominee as an Executive Director in line with the Federal Character principle of engagement into the public service of the Federation.

4 Rex O. Uzoegbo Esq. on behalf of Chief Ezekiel Eriaye and Chief James Wege Senator Ayo Akinyelure(Ondo Central) Nigerian Agip Oil Company Petition against AGIP for alleged disobedience to the law of equity and social injustice metted out on them NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/10 – 9/10/2019 1. The Committee recommends that the Senate do command the Nigerian Agip Oil Company(NAOC) Limited for accepting the advice of the Senate through the Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions for issuing certified bank cheques in settlement of the agreed sum on forty million to both petitioners, Chief Ezekiel Ariaya and Chief James Wege at the rate of twenty million each as compensation for all that they suffered thereby resolving the age long matter arising from the petition amicably and permanently;

2. That the Senate do direct the Management of NAOC should comply with the mutual agreement reached with the petitioners to award reasonable contracts to the petitioners soonest for empowerment needed to sustain their continued existence and to maintain good relationship with the host Community and the petitioners in particular henceforth.

5 Barr. C.D.Ndukwe and 43 others Senator Enyinnaya H. Abaribe (Abia South) Nigerian Breweries Pls Petition against Nigerian Breweries for non-payment of retirement benefits NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/8 – 9/10/2019 The Committee recommends that the Senate do direct Barr. C.D.Ndukwe be advised to patiently await the decision of the Court of Appeal, Enugu Division as the petition he brought to the Senate was before the Court of Appeal for determination.
6 M. A. Ibrahim Senator Ayo Akinyelure (Ondo Central) Mortgage Bank Plc Petition from M. A. Ibrahim against the Mortgage Bank Plc for alleged stoppage of entitlements NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/10 – 9/10/2019 The committee recommend the Senate should stand down the petition since it has been withdrawn by the petitioner, Mr. Murtala A. Ibrahim, on proper ground that same was being heard in the House Committee on Public Petitions .
7 Mr. Ezekiel D. Musa Senator Philip Aduda (FCT) Federal Government Petition against non-inlusion of FCT indigene on the Ministerial List of 2019 NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/1 – 4/7/2019 Based on the decisions of the Court of Appeal, Abuja and the Constitutional provisions of sections 299 and 147(3) above, the Committee strongly recommends to the Senate for approval that: The Indigenes of FCT-Abuja be granted approval by Mr President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to appoint a Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to represent FCT-Abuja in the Federal Executive Council.
8 L/Cpl Omoaka Itunoya and Pte Woru Musa Senator Aliyu S. Abdullahi (Niger North) Military Pensions Board, Abuja Petition against the Military Pensions Board, Abuja for alleged non-payment of of monthly pensions NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/3 – 26/09/2019 The Committee wishes to recommend that the decision of the Military Pensions Board not to pay monthly pension to the two petitioner, L/CPL Omoaka Itunoya and Pte Oworu Musa, be sustained since their service years were not up to 15years each being the number of years required by the extant law to qualify for pension as at the time they left service.
9 Mr. Ekenfkari M. Yerima Senator Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba South) National Examination Council (NECO) Petition against NECO for alleged unlawful dismissal from service NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/4 – 26/09/2019 1. The Committee recommends that although the petitioner, Mr Ekenfkari was guilty of negligence of duty, however as first offender the Committee strongly recommend him for demotion from the rank of Deputy Director to Assisstant Director on Humanitarian ground, having serve the Nation for 29years with the National Examination Council(NECO). 2. In the alternative, his next promotion be held down for two years to serve as deterrent to future offenders as the Board of NECO may consider desirable in this circumstance.
10 Maryam Danna Mohammed Senator Ayo Akinyelure (Ondo Central) Niger Delta Power Holding Company Petition against the Niger Power Holding Company for alleged wrongful disengagement from serve NASS/9S/R/15/VOL.1/10 – 9/10/2019   1.The Committee recommend that the Senate hereby mandate the Niger Delta Power Holding Company(NDPHC) to reinstate Maryam Danna Mohammed and pay her all her entitlement because her disengagement did not follow due processing line with laid down Civil Service rules and procedures.            2. That the Senate should immediately communicate its resolution to the Secretary to the Government of the Federation and Managing Director of the Niger Delta Power Holding Company (NDPHC) for compliance and implementation of same.